View Single Post
Old 12-07-2022, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
oblivion

BananaBucks : 1,773
Said "Thanks" 3 Times
Was Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 0 Times
Default first time grower, in south Oz

hi all, ive just ordered my first two plants which are currently in the mail.

I've got a pair of super dwarf 'nathan' variety, apparently a cavendish i believe.
purchased from daleys fruit tree nursery in NSW.

i've been growing carnivore plants for many years (fly traps, pitcher plants, sticky sundews) and if you let the peat/sand mix dry out they die as they must be kept moist at all times, so hopefully i'll have some luck with banana's.

a few mths back i purchased a couple of coffee bush's but they didnt live more than a month. i think i didnt sun harden them enough as the sun is a lot hotter here in SA compared to northern rivers NSW where daleys nursery is.
when i realised what was involved vs how much yield i get (per cup) it was probably for the better anyway.

my plan is (hopefully) they grow long enough to give me pups which i'd like to raise also in case a mother plant dies while im learning, and to possibly share around with others.

Im thinking ill put them against a fence so they get direct sun for most of the day but are shielded from the hot afternoon sun as we're currently in summer.

not sure if i should maybe raise on indoors, but light might be a problem unless i use the small LED grow light i have on young carnivore plants.
oblivion is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To oblivion
Said thanks:
The following 10 users say welcome oblivion to Bananas.org!
all43 (12-07-2022), beam2050 (12-07-2022), cincinnana (12-07-2022), crazy banana (01-04-2023), Iowa (12-08-2022), Janelle525 (12-07-2022), kubali (03-28-2023), longranger (12-07-2022), MediaHound (04-11-2023), PR-Giants (12-11-2022)

Join Bananas.org Today!