View Single Post
Old 02-09-2009, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
john_ny

Location: Staten Island, NY - southernmost county in NY State.
Zone: USDA7- Sunset34
BananaBucks : 606,842
Said "Thanks" 1,057 Times
Was Thanked 2,284 Times in 832 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 37 Times
Default Computer problems

Some months ago, I had a problem with my printer. I posted here and asked if anyone could help, and someone (Turtile) got me going again, so I thought I 'd throw this problem up.
I had been using Norton for anti virus, for several years because, with rebates, I got it free. This year I was unable to do that. A couple of years ago, we switched our ISP to Verizon, and got FIOS, a fiberoptic connection for phone, internet, and TV.
Verizon was putting little pop-ups on my computer screen, telling me to install Verizon Security Suite. Since my Norton was expiring, I decided to do that.
Then the trouble started. I got a message, from Verizon, that there was a conflict between Verizon Security, and Norton, and I should remove the Norton. I did that.
I tried various Help pages and suggestions, but some problems persist.
1. I couldn't get my e-mail. (I use Outlook Express) It would go to, "Connecting", and stay there until it timed out. One suggestion was to turn machine off, for 15 seconds, and turn it back on. That worked, once. I got my e-mails, but the next time I tried, it was back where it was. I had to turn the machine off and on before each time, I tried to retrieve e-mail.