View Single Post
Old 01-30-2009, 06:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
harveyc
Been nuts, gone bananas

Zone: 9b
Name: Harvey
BananaBucks : 260,929
Said "Thanks" 6,024 Times
Was Thanked 4,453 Times in 1,894 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 1,785 Times
Default Re: Panama banana companies dying

I spent 25 years working for the largest agricultural lending institution in the U.S., which itself is a cooperative. I am now a member of one of its local cooperative associations which is operating well. This institution loans funds to farmers, ranchers, nursery operators, etc. as well as marketing and processing cooperatives. Many cooperatives did well but many did very poorly. Many farmers lost fortunes in these cooperatives when they went bankrupt, not getting paid for their crops and losing their equity investments. California Canners & Growers, Tri-Valley Growers, Guild Winery, and Rice Growers Association are just a few cooperatives I've had some extensive experience with. The failures of this cooperatives caused great hardships for many of these farmers and some went out of business themselves.

Some fundamental problems agricultural marketing and processing cooperatives face are:
(1) Retaining adequate capital and running the operation like a business. Member farmers want to get paid the maximum they can for their crop and this will often result in poor liquidity and capital in the cooperative, making survival difficult.
(2) Limiting production to levels that can be handled and marketed efficiently and profitably. Growers will typically want to maximize production in hopes of maximizing their own personal profit even in times of surplus production and low crop prices. The mentality is "let someone else cut production". The cooperative if owned by the growers, so management and the board find it difficult to set policies to limit production.