View Single Post
Old 06-30-2008, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
harveyc
Been nuts, gone bananas

Zone: 9b
Name: Harvey
BananaBucks : 260,925
Said "Thanks" 6,024 Times
Was Thanked 4,453 Times in 1,894 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 1,785 Times
Default Re: Next time you fill up your tank....

There are some very good points in that report, but it seems to be very blatant in its bias. Typical with government politics, amendments get tagged onto unrelated bills. I'm a farmer and a beneficiary of government farm programs, but it's ridiculous the level of increased funding that got stuck into the Farm Bill on this election year, obviously to buy votes. I believe McCain was prudent in opposing it as was Bush in vetoing it. It did become law, however, as Congress overrode the veto. I had not heard that the bill included anything to close the "Enron loophole" until now. However, since the bill has become law, when are we going to see the relief?

Speculation certainly can drive up prices. Speculation can also drive prices down. Speculation basically makes markets more volatile. How about speculation in the housing market and how that has cost many people their savings as the bubble burst? Why isn't there some complaining about that? Because we can only blame greedy consumers and not some big corporations? Should we regulate housing prices to avoid runaway housing prices?