View Single Post
Old 06-26-2017, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
ChocoTaco369

Zone: 8A
BananaBucks : 8,172
Said "Thanks" 4 Times
Was Thanked 65 Times in 14 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 0 Times
Default The North Carolina Banana Experiment

I have been a Philadelphia area resident ever since I went to college in 2004.

Thanks to early indoctrination by my father and grandfather, and 7 years working on a farm as a kid, I've been gardening for quite awhile. There isn't much land here in the concrete jungle I live in, so I've used all sorts of buckets and bags to make ends meet over the years (usually Home Depot buckets jammed in the corner of a parking lot). I've been growing my own makeshift gardens since I was probably 23 (I'm 30 now) and have gotten quite good at it. The place I live now has the best microclimate I've been in to date.

I'm in a temperamental 7a currently, but I have a big advantage - I live in a row home with a south-facing roof deck. Due to the elevated deck, the perfect view of the southern sky and the entire block being row homes that completely block the north wind, using frost blankets, I had tomatoes til December last year and was able to plant my seedlings the 2nd weekend of April this year - almost unheard of for this area.

My fiance and I have been traveling to the coast of North Carolina for almost half a decade and it has always been our dream to spend our later years on the Carolina coast - we just love everything about the area. Well, we finally decided that there is no point in waiting, and we have worked very hard over the past year to make a big move. She has found new employment down there already, and I am transferring down October 1st.