View Single Post
Old 06-29-2007, 06:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lilith

Zone: 9
Name: Gina Anne
BananaBucks : 80,865
Said "Thanks" 20 Times
Was Thanked 136 Times in 52 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 1 Times
Default Wanted: Praying Hands, 1000 Fingers

I am looking for pups of these bananas.
I don't have any neato bananas to trade (all mine are very ordinaly) but I do have the following very cool tropical plants available.

These have been greenhouse grown and are pretty much all zone 9A-11 plants. If you are interested in any of them, please email me even if you don't have the bananas I want, I would consider trades for other things as well.

First up, I am discontinuing Etlingera elatior Red Torch from my greenhouse. This is simply a stunning plant. I have had extensive experience with Etlingera elatior for several years now, having grown and bloomed 4 different forms. This is a huge growing, minimum zone 10 plant, I don't know anyone in 9B who has it outside (correct me if I am wrong). The individual stalks reach heights OVER 20 feet tall. The blooms are larger than a softball and are borne on stalks over 5 feet tall. WHat I am saying here is, NO, you can't keep this in a pot, as it needs space to eventually spread, and it cannot freeze.

I am discontinuing it for the former reason. I want the area it is planted in for something else that doesn't have a spreading habit. What you would receive is rhizomes that you would plant are regrow into a new stand of ginger.

Here is a photo of mine currently in bloom:
11/2008 Outer Banks Marathon 26.2, Kitty Hawk NC--3:50
2/2009 5 Points of Life Marathon, 26.2, Gainesville FL--4:00
4/2009 Boston Marathon, 26.2-- 4:38
10/2009 Marine Corps Marathon, DC, 26.2--457
1/2010 Houston Marathon, 26.2--3:55:09
2/2010 5 Points of Life Marathon, Gainesville--415
Halloween Day 2010 Marine Corps Marathon, DC--
2/2011--Austin TX Marathon--
Lilith is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Lilith

Join Bananas.org Today!