Thread: Terminoligy
View Single Post
Old 10-10-2009, 09:42 AM   #76 (permalink)
damaclese
Living in Exile

Zone: 9 Mediterranean climate
Name: Paulo
BananaBucks : 283,237
Said "Thanks" 1,352 Times
Was Thanked 1,620 Times in 706 Posts
Said "Welcome to Bananas" 101 Times
Default Re: Terminoligy

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrganicBananac View Post
This is false. It is the addition of Sulfite's to wine, that makes it a "synthetic" beverage. (The reason why vegans won't consume it, even tho it is made from grapes) There are companies that DO NOT add sulfites, and their wines have no detectable traces of sulfites, which naturally in trace amounts can occur.

I'm also missing the point of how water and grapes magically turn into synthetic chemicals??? Please explain.
i am a chef. all wine has sulfides in it to some degree. it part of the natural chemical make up of grapes and the process of making alcohols.

for a wine to be labeled no sulfides it just has to not have any added. that doesn't mean there are not any in the first place. go to the USDA web site they have listed all the labeling requirements for wines

By the way many of the labels that are on foods like "Natural or Organic" do not mean what you would normally think they mean for a complete list of what can and cant be added to a product again go to the USDA food labeling requirements section i don't have the URL off the top of my head sorry